New Short Story Giveaway!

Hey Guys!

It’s that time again, my newest short story, ‘No Possible Future?’ is available free on Kindle for one day only so pop over and grab your copy today. Here’s the blurb:

A short story set in 1937 Soviet Russia.
When Iosif is dragged from his family home in the dead of night he loses everything, sent to a hard labour camp in Siberia he cannot contemplate a future. Day by day he witnesses the devastating affect the camp has on inmates and the rare likelihood that anyone will survive their sentence to have a future outside of the camp once more. Can anything make him consider any kind of future again?
(Approx 2000 words)

 

So if you fancy a read you can get your free copy here.

I hope you enjoy the read and let me know what you think I’d love to hear your feedback.

Have a nice Saturday everyone!

Eilise xx

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 13:21:59

    I’ve just downloaded this and am really looking forward to reading it!

    Reply

    • eiliseburrows
      Apr 28, 2012 @ 13:31:32

      Thanks! I really hope you enjoy it, let me know what you think afterwards 🙂 x

      Reply

      • Michelle
        Apr 30, 2012 @ 11:13:24

        I really liked it! From where did you get the inspiration for this story?

      • eiliseburrows
        Apr 30, 2012 @ 19:58:48

        Well it began when i was reading one of the Catrin Collier Hearts of Gold series, one of her characters was Russian and it sparked my curiosity so I went off and did some reasearch of my own. Im really glad you liked the story, any suggestions for improvement? Eilise x

  2. Michelle
    May 02, 2012 @ 23:06:45

    It’s great as it is! I only have a suggestion for something minor – the only thing that sprang to mind was I’d change outfit to uniform. Everything I’ve read set in camps uses uniform and, to me, outfit makes me think of something that you’d choose to wear yourself x

    Reply

    • eiliseburrows
      May 03, 2012 @ 18:34:25

      That’s a very interesting point I see what you mean, thanks for the advice. I’m really happy you enjoyed the story. I have another short story on kindle which is set during the second world war if you are interested in trying some more of my writing and my first novel is due out on kindle in the summer. Thanks for all your feedback and advice, I hope you will leave a review on amazon if you have time and feel it deserves it. 🙂 You have made my week.
      Eilise x

      Reply

  3. Michelle
    May 04, 2012 @ 15:08:34

    Looking forward to the release of your first novel! I will look up the other short story later. I’m absolutely terrible when it comes to writing reviews (I’m not so good with words!), but I’ll see what I can do 🙂 And you’re welcome. Keep doing what you’re doing x

    Reply

    • eiliseburrows
      May 04, 2012 @ 20:27:38

      Thanks Michelle, keep an eye out here for updates on the release of my novel ‘Dare to Dream Again.’ Fingers crossed it won’t be long now! Before that though there should be a few more short stories coming, three of which will feature the main characters of the forthcoming novel so that you can meet them in advance! As for the review I understand if it’s awkward I’m useless at reviewing, it was cheeky of me to ask anyway, I’m just happy that you enjoyed the story, that is enough for me 🙂
      x

      Reply

Leave a Reply

